Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA)

What is Specialist Disability Accommodation in the NDIS?

Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) is a range of innovative homes especially designed with the purpose to meet the support requirements of National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) participants with extreme functional impairment or very high support needs.

Family Care Australia provides Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) dwellings with accessible features to help residents live more independently and allow other supports to be delivered better or more safely.

SDA can be helpful to reduce the stress on family members by living independently in a place where it is more accessible. Living in a place with people facing similar challenges can be helpful to reduce any feeling of isolation. 

When a person meets all the eligibility criteria for Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA), the NDIA will include funding in their NDIS plan. Specialist Disability Accommodation is funding for the accommodation cost only but other services and core support services are not included in the plan. Generally, the person may need to pay other expenses at their own cost.

Family Care Australia is your trusted and registered National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) provider with the aim of improving the lives of people with disability in Australia. As an approved NDIS service provider in Sydney, Family Care Australia provides you with choice and control by providing world-class support.

Find out if you’re eligible for Specialist Disability Accommodation. 

What services does Family Care Australia provide you under Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA)?

Family Care Australia assists our participants with:

Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) is provided within four separate categories depending on your needs: Improved Liveability, Fully Accessible, High Physical Support, and Robust.

Improved Liveability – This type of home must have a ‘reasonable’ level of physical access for people with sensory, intellectual, or cognitive impairment. Improved Liveability Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) dwellings must also include one or more improved liveability design features according to the resident’s needs which may include elements such as luminance contrasts, improved wayfinding or lines of sight.

Fully Accessible – This type of home must have a ‘high’ level of physical access for people with significant physical impairment, including wheelchair accessibility in the bathroom, kitchen, and external areas. To exemplify, the external doors and outdoor private areas must be accessible by wheelchair so that they can live more independently. 

High Physical Support – This type of home has a very high level of specialised design and physical access, for example ceiling hoists, assistive and communication technologies, and emergency power solutions. Also 24/7 support available for people with extreme functional impairment. 

Robust – This type of home needs good physical access, as well as extra safety features like retreat areas for participants and staff, and impact-resistant materials. It helps to reduce the risk of injury and disturbances.

Eligibility Criteria to become our SDA participants;

  • Approval of NDIS plan. 
  • Aged 18 to 65
  • Significant physical limitations (Extreme Functional Impairment)
  • Participant with high support needs.
  • Participants in need of special accommodation due to disability.
[elementor-template id=”740″]

Related Services

Supported Independent
Living (SIL)



Scroll to Top